Rydych yma

New “Legend” crowned at 2019 Superfeet Sandman Triathlon

Over 1000 triathletes arrived in the stunning surroundings of Newborough Forest for the 9th Sandman Triathlon brought to in partnership with Superfeet. The course was as challenging as ever and held a few surprises that made for some incredible racing across the weekend. 

The last race of the Always Aim High ‘SUUNTO Adventure Triathlon Series’, the Superfeet Sandman is the perfect season closer for the UK Triathlon Calendar and this year saw the crowning of the first ever Legend Series Champion.


Saturday saw the Sprint and Duathlon events along with the Junior Sandman race. 

The Sprint distance at this year’s Superfeet Sandman was the closing race for the Welsh Triathlon Super Series and the calibre of athlete was extremely high. The women’s race was won by Megan McDonald a little over 1 minute ahead of Hannah Munday in second, closely followed by Rhian Roxburgh in third. 

The men’s race was an incredibly close fought affair with just over 1 minute separating the top three. Liam Lloyd took top spot with Sam Wade 25 seconds behind him in second place. Josh Lewis came in third place. 

In the Duathlon, Alex Bath was the first man in a time of 01:11:52, while Jody Parker brought home the win in the women’s race in 01:23:22.

Rounding off Saturday’s action was the Junior Triathlon. 100 triathlon stars of the future took part in various race distances across a variety of age categories.


After a beautiful sunny day for racing on Saturday, a calm but drizzly overcast day greeted the competitors on day two. The first into the water were the Legend Triathletes who kicked the action off. An incredible performance from Stephen Derret saw him take the win for the 3rd time in the SUUNTO Adventure Series with George Martindale in second and Andrew Rolls in third. 

Cathy Cook won the women’s Legend with over 8 minutes lead over second place Yvie Ryan. Third was Suzanne Toppin from Eden Valley Tri.

In the Classic race Chris Standidge took first place for the second year in a row ahead of Dan Elliot in second and Andrew Scott in third. Laura Gray took top spot ahead of Rebecca Lineker in second place and Jazmin Rogers in third.

In the Savage event the win was taken by Dan Elliot in the Men’s race with Catherine Connel taking the honours for the women.

Sunday brought the 2019 SUUNTO Adventure Series to a close with the crowning of Classic, Savage, and the first ever Legend Series winners. The women’s Classic Series win went to Jazmin Rogers with Kate Mills and Susie Peart in second and third respectively. Robins Woods took the win in the men’s Series with a little less than 3 minutes leads over the whole series on Ben Watkinson who was a minute ahead of Seamus Sheard in third.

The men’s Savage series win when to Andrew Scott ahead of Neil Harris in second, and Ian Imeson in third place. Catherine Connell took the Series win for the women Sarah Roberts coming a close second and Clare Fox in third. The inaugural Adventure Series Legend men’s crown was claimed by Stephen Derrett who dominated the series with wins in all three events. Daniel Pearson and Cameron Geekie came in second and third. The women’s Series win was taken by Louise Mcmurray ahead of Becky Geekie in second.

Always Aim High Director Tim Lloyd said: “The 2019 Superfeet Sandman has been just incredible. We’ve had such an amazing weekend of racing; and with huge numbers of people visiting Anglesey plus the race action being televised to a worldwide audience, it’s fantastic for triathlon and the North Wales region.”

“The Sandman is such a friendly and challenging weekend, it attracts a really diverse range of competitors. We’ve had everyone from 8 year old first timers to current World Champions!”

“We’d like to extend a massive thank you to everyone of our athletes for joining us in addition to their families and friends. We’d also like to thank our title partners Superfeet and our other race sponsors for their continued support as well as the local community of Newborough and Natural Resource Wales for being such amazing hosts.”

“Lastly, we’d like to thank our amazing marshals and volunteers, without whom we the race just wouldn’t be possible”

Full Sandman race results by TDL Event Services, and links to race photography courtesy of Mel Parry Event Photography  can be found here.

For more information on Always Aim High’s 2019 race calendar, visit alwaysaimhighevents.com

Entries for the Adventure Championship 2020 featuring all three stunning triathlons, the Slateman, the Snowman, and the Sandman are now open. Don’t miss out on this incredible series of events based in some of the most iconic scenery in the world. 


Selected Sandman Triathlon Results Below:


2019 Sandman Legend 72.4 results:

Top 3 Men:

  1. Stephen Derrett            04:22:18
  2. George Martindale            04:26:39
  3. Andrew Rolls            04:37:34

Top 3 Women:

  1. Cathy Cook                05:28:58
  2. Yvie Ryan                05:37:45    
  3. Suzanne Toppin            05:39:49    


2019 Sandman Full Triathlon results:

Top 3 Men:

  1. Chris Standidge            02:20:47
  2. Dan Elliot                02:27:56
  3. Andrew Scott            02:35:44

Top 3 Women:

  1. Laura Gray                02:53:49
  2. Rebecca Lineker            02:54:40
  3. Jazmin Rogers            02:55:10


Savage Winners

  • Men’s: Daniel Elliot                
  • Women's: Rebecca Lineker


2019 Sandman Sprint Triathlon results:

Top 3 Men

  1. Liam Lloyd            01:01:20
  2. Sam Wade            01:01:45
  3. Josh Lewis            01:02:22

Top 3 Women

  1. Megan Mcdonald        01:11:34
  2. Hannah Munday        01:12:40
  3. Rhian Roxburgh        01:12:59


2019 Sandman Duathlon results:

Top 3 Men

  1. Alex Bath            01:11:52    
  2. Steve Abbott            01:14:29    
  3. Ben Gibson            01:16:59    

Top 3 Women

  1. Jody Parker            01:23:22    
  2. Ceri Roberts            01:28:12    
  3. Sian Beck            01:29:49    

Event partners

  • Superfeet
  • High5 Sports Nutrition
  • Aquasphere UK
  • Jones o Gymru
  • Zoot Sports